Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti

Classical music is considered as art rooted in the traditions of the western culture. The classical music era lasted for approximately 100 years, between 1720 and 1820. The show was a broadcasted live performance conducted on May 7th 2015. Riccardo Muti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra performed the music piece to commemorate Ludwig Van Beethoven’s centenary of his utmost extraordinary work of art. The show also comprised of a virtual audience following through YouTube streaming, and the concert is still accessible on YouTube for the public to relish. Eric Owen was positioned on the bass instrument, Mathew Polenzani on tenor instrument, and Ekaterina Gubanova on mezzo-soprano, and Camilla Nylund undertook the soprano voice.  The melodic aspect of the show is a sonata. It contained a small instrumental ensemble that contained keys which were distinctively linked. This paper evaluates a classical concert of Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti

Beethoven Biography

Ludwig van Beethoven was born on December 16th, 1770 in Bonn, Germany. Beethoven initially learned the grand piano from his father and was upgraded by his parent as a child sensation with the hopes that he would have comparable accomplishment to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.  Wolfgang was the famous composer during Classical era. Beethoven voyaged to Vienna in 1787 to the traditional center of Europe to meet Mozart with expectations of becoming his learner. Regrettably, because of unforeseen happenings Beethoven’s mother was sick, resulting in Beethoven’s return home. As a result, he failed to return to Vienna prior to Mozart’s demise. Later, Beethoven learning with Franz Joseph Haydn, mentioned as the “Father of the Symphony.” Beethoven assimilated most of what he studied from numerous writers. Over time, he established his ardent and exceptional approach that turned out to be very renowned during the Romantic period of classical music.

Musical selection

Symphony no. 9 within D Minor, Op. 125, or similarly identified as Choral Symphony is an orchestral work in four arrangements (Van Beethoven Schiller & Bernstein, 1987). It surges with power and dynamic energy and reaches its highpoint within the last movement which is a chorus ending that includes the hymn, “Ode to Joy. The symphony was Beethoven’s finalized symphony and is a representation of the significant connection between the Classical and Romantic eras of Western music account. Symphony No. 9 is extensively acknowledged as Beethoven’s ultimate configuration. Symphony No. 9 interrupted numerous patterns of the Classical form of Western melodies.

Its orchestra was abnormally large, and the complete performance had an interval of over one hour. The organization of the movements still ensued the Classical models, but similarly displayed a new and exceptional kind of narrative. The initial movement was based on the Classical sonata form, which amazes spectators first by increasing to a fortissimo highpoint, but then suspending a return to the home notes (Muti 2015). Secondly, the scherzo, is positioned as the subsequent movement, and the third movement is typically relaxing, with imploring adagio. Finally, the fourth movement generates from a mild start into a bold culmination.

The symphony commences with Movement one known as the Allegro ma non troppo. It starts very distinctively, starting with complete quietness and climaxing with approximately sixteen measures. The inaugural is believed to be a reflection of Beethoven’s struggle during this period. While listening to the melody, the audience may imagine his individual adversities and variations. Within the second movement, Movement 2, the Scherzo Molto Vivace, the audience hear the opening in a solemn tone.  However, this significance soon alters to a rather conflicting lively tenor. Within movement 3, Adagio molto de cantabile, the speed is slower compared to the previous movements. In the movement 4, Presto Allegro assai, comprises of the popular hymn ‘Ode to Joy’. This is considered as one the well-known and most identifiable works of art in classical music. It is distinctive as it comprises of a choir. Beethoven relished the poem written by Friedrich Schiller so much that he opted to captivate it in his symphony.

Personal Reaction to the Music Piece

This was an extremely eye-opening and pleasurable symphony for me to watch. There were numerous components of surprise that continuously kept me seeking to listen to more. The tune is very unforgettable and attractive. I actually relished the existence of a chorus within the symphony. The melody presented a satisfying surprise to my lobes and made the general concert even better. The symphony’s mood was similarly constantly varying. For instance, within first and second movement seemed to be graver in terms of conflicts. On the other hand, the fourth movement consisted of a merry happy atmosphere. The Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s show for Beethoven’s 9th Symphony was a pleasant show with numerous great reverberations and motivating musical experiences that I might not have gotten the chance to listen to. In general, the chorus presents an attractive outing. The band, under the guidance of Duain Wolfe, intones with a constant command and expressions that merger well across every section. It results in an anticipated precision. The chorus line is my preferred performance, whereas the violin is the device I relished the most. I bore a close relation to the violin during the performance since I have a passion and know how to play it.




Muti, Riccardo, director. Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti. Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra , Chicago Symphony Orchestra, 8 May 2015. Retrieved from

Van Beethoven, L., Schiller, F., & Bernstein, L. (1987). Symphony no. 9 in D minor, op. 125. Ultraphon.


Looking for help with your homework?
Grab a 30% Discount and Get your paper done!

30% OFF
Turnitin Report
Title Page
Place an Order

Cite this Page

Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti . (2022, February 20). The Studypool . Retrieved June 06, 2023, from
“ Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti .” The Studypool , 20 Feb. 2022,
Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti . [online]. Available at: <> [Accessed 06 Jun. 2023].
Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti [Internet]. The Studypool . 2022 Feb 20 [cited 2023 Jun 06]. Available from:
Grab A 14% Discount on This Paper
Pages (550 words)
Approximate price: -